The Cobra – Frederick Forsyth

My Rating – 3/5

Summary –

The master story teller returns with Cal Dexter and his nemesis Paul Devereux from “The Avenger” who team up together this time to fight the mighty cocaine cartel of Columbia.

Review –

Among the action thrillers I have always been fond of continental authors especially the British than their American counterparts.  I prefer the novels that are little slow in pace, lesser violence and the ones that set up an elaborate plot. Frederick Forsyth is a front runner in my list since I read The Day of the Jackal.

Forsyth returns with The Cobra where the veteran CIA spymaster Paul Devereux along with Calvin Dexter hatches a complex mission to destroy the cocaine industry.  The plot is good. Narrative hooks you as always with its detailed research and then the unexpected twist in the end.  Forsyth fans will definitely like the book.

I normally rate Thrillers/Mysteries on two parameters – How soon I was able to solve the mystery myself and loopholes in the plot if any that I could identify.  Personally on these two counts I have felt that of late the old master is slipping a bit and this book was no exception (but I liked it more that The Afghan).  Cat and mouse chase that keeps you on the edge of your seat has always been his forte; my personal favourites being The Day of the Jackal, The Fourth Protocol and The Odessa File. However, in the last few books Forsyth has relied more on one sided plots where the good guys develop intricate schemes to outwit the bad guys. I have felt that this takes out the adrenaline rush that you always felt in his earlier books.

Even though die hard Forsyth fans will not agree with my rating, it’s definitely a good read especially if you are a Forsyth fan like me.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate your time.

The book is available cheapest in India at –

1. Infibeam  2. Indiaplaza

Leave a Reply

