My 2012 Travelogue

Those who know me will be surprised by the title of this post. I am probably the laziest person when it comes to actual travelling (A cause of constant chagrin to my wife!) but I am quite a literary traveller. So with the countdown for 2012, I decided to chronicle my travel sojourns of the year. Currently I am in Scotland, in the historic city of Edinburgh of late 80’s, now that I have finally managed to start with Ian Rankin’s John Rebus series and it looks like I will be travelling there quite often in near future.

This year I travelled to 11 countries apart from travelling to various parts of India.

Country

No.  Of Books

UK

10

USA

7

Ireland

4

Sweden

3

India

3

Italy

2

France

1

Pakistan

1

Panama

1

South Africa

1

Japan

1

Latvia

1

Total

35

The countries I normally travel very frequently are UK, USA and Sweden, thanks to the phenomenal rise of Scandinavian mysteries in the recent times. The new “most frequently travelled” country this year was Ireland, courtesy Tana French’s mesmerizing Dublin murder squad series. I have been harping on about this series for some time and if you have not yet read it, I recommend you grab it fast.

In the New Year you will find me backpacking often to St. Denis, situated in the scenic Perigord region of France and to Vigata, located in Sicily, Italy. St. Denis is the charming fictional town in rural France where Martin Walker’s Bruno Courreges series is set and Vigata is where the gourmand Inspector Salvo Moontalbano operates. I don’t remember who recommended these two series to me, but I am very thankful to that blogger.

In USA, I like to visit the beautiful town of Ann Arbor, Michigan (Harry Dolan’s David Loogan series) and Baltimore, Maryland (Laura Lippman’s Tess Monaghan series). But nothing can beat London, the city I have travelled most over the years and in different times. I am in awe of that two millennia old city and I think I know it better than my hometown by now. Currently I am reading Deborah Crombie’s Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James series, which is partly set in London in addition to Simon Beckett’s Dr. David Hunter series. Thanks to Swapna Krishna for her reviews which compelled me to start buying these books.

I am also slowly lumbering through Kurt Wallander series by Henning Mankell which takes me to Ystad, with its bleak winter and chilly, desolate Scanian plains of south Sweden. I hope to increase the momentum next year and have already set my sight on some new countries with new earmarked series. So let’s see what travel plans New Year has charted for me.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate your time.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

