My 2013 in Books

Image

I have been very erratic this year in posting my reviews. Hectic work schedule is the main culprit and it is not showing any sign of relenting in 2014 either. So having to choose between reading and writing, I chose former. Still this year I somehow managed to match my last year’s book tally. In 2013 I read 13,160 pages in total (courtesy: Goodreads); an average of 36 pages read every day, not well at all. Therefore, my immediate goal for 2014 is to improve it to 50 pages per day.

In my 2012 round up, I mentioned that I would be reading Ian Rankin’s much acclaimed John Rebus series, which I did. I read remaining 14 books of the series this year and it has become my most favourite mystery series. This is that rare kind of series, which gives you immense exhilaration and sorrow at the same time when it ends. But lo and behold, soon after I finished the last book, a new Rebus novel was published. Rebus is out of retirement and back on force. Therefore, I am eagerly waiting to read this new adventure.

This year I also finally managed to lay my hands on Gillian Flynn’s novels and they just blew me away. She is a terrific author who knows how to write some seriously crafty stories and therefore on my “Must buy the book as soon as it is out” list. If Gone Girl was a twisted mind bender, Dark Places and Sharp Objects were not far behind in the race.

I am still slowing carrying on Deborah Crombie’s Duncan Kincaid and Gemma Jones series and Martin Walker’s Bruno Courrges series. However, I really caught up with Andrea Camilleri’s Inspector Montalbano. I read four books back to back in December. This is a fun series to read. Camilleri perfectly knows how to make his books as spicy and mouth watering as succulent Italian cuisine. More about this series later. Inspector Montalbano pepped my interest in Italian crime series and I have now started with Donna Leon’s Commissario Brunneti series.

This year I started with two new countries. Louise Penny’s Armand Gamache books based in Canada and Arnaldur Indridason’s series based in Reykjavik, Iceland. I found Gamache very interesting. The series, though having apparent air of a cosy mystery, turned out to be much darker that I anticipated. I would definitely be reading more of it this year.

My top 5 picks for 2013 are –

 1. Night Film – This is an incredible book. A must read. I will be posting its review soon.

 2. The Feast of the Goat – Mario Vargas Llosa’s novel based on Rafael Trujillo’s 31 year dictatorship in Dominican Republic and its aftermath lays bare anatomy of dictatorial regime.

 3. Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore

 4. Gone Girl

 5. Resurrection Men

Wish you all a happy and prosperous 2014 !!

Leave a Reply

